Heli Skiing Internship Part 1

Heli Skiing Internship for Outdoor Rec Grad CMCLeadville

An update from Brett Menter, a Colorado Mountain College Leadville Spring Outdoor Recreation Leadership grad, whom is currently in Alaska learning hands-on from Majestic Heli Ski
Njord Rota (owner of Majestic Heli Ski) and I guiding together.

Njord Rota (owner of Majestic Heli Ski) and I guiding together.

Wow! I didn’t really have an idea of how incredible this experience was going to turn out. This is everything I could ask for in an internship plus more! Every day I absorb new information about the Heli Ski Industry. I’m learning from the best and absorbing all I can. Due to some personnel changes, I’ve had the opportunity to step up to a bigger role than I anticipated. I’ve now been out more than 25 days tail-guiding.
Chad Mickschl, a CMC instructor is a Majestic guide. This is him  with Chris Shelly, another guide

Chad Mickschl, a CMC instructor is a Majestic guide. This is him with Chris Shelly, another guide

Majestic Heli Ski is an up and coming company in our 2nd year of operation. Our small crew contains experienced, well trained, and very knowledgeable staff. Our guides have experience in multiple countries and operations around the world; and more than 20 years of it! We are located out of the beautiful Majestic Valley Lodge about two hours east of Anchorage on the Glenn Highway. 15 guests is our maximum capacity and we offer lodging, fine dinning, and guided heli-skiing/snowboarding in the northern part of the Chugach Mountain Range.
Majestic Heli Ski Lodge

Majestic Heli Ski Lodge

Not only have I been completing all of the training with the guides, I also participate in daily meetings, terrain selection, guest training, and guiding in the field. Everyday I have a chance to improve my skills and gain hands-on experience with forecasting, leadership, communication, and guiding. In the 11 different heli-ski operations in Alaska now, I guarantee that I’m seeing the most time in the field out of all the interns.  Although I am the youngest employee (by 15 years), and the only snowboarder, everyone is treating me like part of the crew.

CROP Closs up
 
Crevasse rescue training at the Matanuska Glacier

Crevasse rescue training at the Matanuska Glacier

 

Guests and I enjoying the helicopter, mountains, and snow

Guests and I enjoying the helicopter, mountains, and snow

Please, feel free to contact me if you would like additional information or have any questions. My email address is brettonmenter@gmail.com
Leave a Reply

